UCLG-MEWA elected new Presidency


The UCLG-MEWA Congress (Executive Bureau, Council and General Assembly Joint Meeting) was held in Tehran, Iran  from  10th to 11th April 2013 and saw the renewal of the Presidential team and of the governing bodies of the UCLG-Middle East and West Asia (MEWA) section of United Cities and Local Governments (UCLG).

UCLG-MEWA enters into a new period, with the election of Muhammad Bager Qalibaf, Mayor of Tehran, as the new President succeeding Maged Abu Ramadan, President of APLA (the Association of the Palestinian Local Authority). Accompanying the Mayor of Tehran, as Co-Presidents were elected Abdul Hussein Al Murshidi, Mayor of Baghdad, Iraq, Osman Baydemir, Mayor of Diyarbakır, Turkey, Rafiq Mikki Union of Gaza Municipalities, Palestine, Aziz Kocaoğlu, Mayor of İzmir, Turkey and Tahir Akyürek, Mayor of Konya, Turkey. Lokman Çağirici, Mayor of Bağcılar, Turkey, was elected as Treasurer and UCLG-MEWA Ombudsman, Mr. Ülgür Gökan, Mayor of Çanakkale, Turkey.

MEWA statutory bodies.

More information on MEWA website