UCLG calls its member for the 2014 Guangzhou Award for Urban Innovation


UCLG is pleased to invite to all its members to participate in the 2014 Guangzhou International Award for Urban Innovation (the Guangzhou Award). The Guangzhou International Award for Urban Innovation is co-sponsored by the United Cities and Local Governments (UCLG), the World Association of the Major Metropolises (Metropolis) and the City of GuangzhouThe aim of the Guangzhou Award is to recognize innovation in improving social, economic and environmental sustainability in cities and regions and, in so doing, to advance the prosperity and quality of life of their citizens. Presented biennially, the award encourages innovation in public policy, projects, business models and practices.


The Guangzhou Award will be discerned to five (5) cities for each award cycle. Each of the winning cities will receive a USD 20,000 cash prize, a trophy and a commemorative certificate.

Submission Process

Submissions must be made in accordance with the registration and application forms, which could be downloaded from the official website of the Guangzhou Award at www.guangzhouaward.org.


  • November 2014 – Final selection by the Jury; the Guangzhou Award Ceremony

  • July-August 2014 -Technical Committee evaluation

  • 30 June 2014 –  Submission deadline

  • 31 May 2014 – Registration deadline

The 2012 Guangzhou Award Winners (in alphabetical order)

  • Kocaeli, Turkey

  • Lilongwe, Malawi

  • Seoul, Korea

  • Vancouver, Canada

  • Vienna, Austria

For more information, check out the submission guidelines for 2014 or please contact the Guangzhou Award Secretariat at:

Website: http://www.guangzhouaward.org

Email: [email protected]

Tel: +86 20 66289390

Fax: +86 20 66289391