The 2014 Guangzhou International Award for Urban Innovation is now open to applications!


The Guangzhou International Award for Urban Innovation is co-sponsored by the United Cities and Local Governments (UCLG), the World Association of the Major Metropolises (Metropolis) and the City of Guangzhou. The aim of the Guangzhou Award is to recognize innovation.

The Guangzhou International Award for Urban Innovation is co-sponsored by the United Cities and Local Governments (UCLG), the World Association of the Major Metropolises (Metropolis) and the City of Guangzhou. The aim of the Guangzhou Award is to recognize innovation in improving social, economic and environmental sustainability in cities and regions and, in so doing, to advance the prosperity and quality of life of their citizens. 

UCLG strongly encourage its members and partners to register and submit successful and innovative initiatives by your city/local government in tackling with specific challenges.

To make a submission, applicants should fill in the registrationand application forms and redirect them to [email protected]
For more information, please click links below:
About the 1st Guangzhou Award:
The 1st Guangzhou Award, which was discerned in Guangzhou in November 2012, received 255 submissions from 153 cities worldwide. After a two-round assessment by the Technical Committee and the Jury, the five laureates of the 1st Guangzhou Award were Kocaeli (Turkey), Lilongwe (Malawi), Seoul (Korea), Vancouver (Canada), and Vienna (Austria).

Key dates to be added into your 2014 calendar:
May 31: Registration Deadline
June 30: Submission Deadline
November 26-29 (TBC):Guangzhou International Urban Innovation Conference & Award Ceremony

If you are interested in the 2012 Guangzhou Award submissions, please log on to: THE URBAN INNOVATION DATABASE